It’s summer time and the living is easy

Well, this post has the dubious honor of being the longest since the last one… 7 months.   I’ll save the “I don’t have anything to say” excuses and just jump in.  The last time we spoke winter was in full force.  Now summer is here and I couldn’t be happier about it.  I’m trying to take advantage of the chance to be outside and walk, bike, paddle, picnic, or my all time favorite, float.   Luckily, my job allows me the flexibility to take advantage of opportunities that come up.  How’s the job going, you ask?  As is my stock answer anytime someone asks how I am: so far, so good.   I work with good people doing good things, so that is a huge plus.  The work is by far the hardest I’ve ever done. But now, anytime I get frustrated I am forced to remember that as hard as it is helping my clients, it’s a whole lot tougher to be my clients.  (How do I know some of you are thinking of a retort asking if I torture my clients or something.  You know what I mean.)  Anyway.  I guess it just puts it in perspective.  It’s hard not really being able to talk about work with my friends and family due to confidentiality, so it does really help that my colleagues are supportive and (mostly) funny.  I do have to say though that my newest client only speaks Mongolian.  Come on, it’s hard enough to teach people about personal finance.  Not that I’m going into super complicated things mind you– it’s all very, very basic.  Which is actually one of the reasons why I know this can’t be a long term gig for me.  In order to grow in the direction I want to, I need to be able to work with clients who are a little further along with their finances.  That will come in time, I guess.  For now I really can’t complain since I know in another couple years I’ll move on from there as we will hopefully be doing our next move.

So what else is up?  This weekend I did my first standup paddleboard race. 19732026_10155291552720767_1708116490736115213_n

I’m not going to say it was fun, but the overall experience was positive.  I was 13th in my race of 22.  Or ninth of 17 women– which one sounds better?  Only a few kids beat me, but they all had boards made for racing while I was on an old clunky loaner that partly filled with water.  I didn’t fall in or come in last, that’s all I really hoped for.  I’m getting to the beach a bit this summer which is always a good idea.  Sandbridge in June with the fam then again at the end of this month.  And we were in NC for the 4th to dive, which never happened due to weather offshore.  But it was a good time regardless, made all the better by pimento cheese and really friendly people.  A girlfriend trip to FL at the end of the summer will round things out quite nicely, so I really can’t complain.  I’m making more of an effort to get out and enjoy people, places and things that I neglected before.  Well, that’s it I guess, until next quarter/year/decade!

tentatively joyful,

Leave a comment